Levels of User Security Access
As a Key Account Holder of your CRM account it is important to set up different security levels for different users accessing your CRM account. For example, some users you may want to restrict exporting out data or deleting contacts.
There are 2 levels of security access:
- Admin User access
- Basic User access
An Admin User has access to everything.
- They can import, export, delete and print off contacts from the database.
- They can merge duplicate contacts together
- They can set up the default custom fields and tags for the company.
- They can send out e-Marketing campaigns.
Who should be an Admin User?
This user is normally the Key Account Holder who is normally the Director or a Senior Manager of the business. Careful thought needs to be considered when giving other users ‘Admin User’ access as you are basically entrusting them with your company data.
What access does a Basic User have?
A Basic User has more limited access within the account, meaning that they can:
- Access contacts but not delete or export them.
- Then cannot print off contacts or merge contact records together.
- They do not have access to Global Settings so they are unable to add global tags or create custom fields.
- They can create e-Marketing campaigns but cannot send them – this needs to be done by an Admin User.
Additional Security Features that can be set up for Basic Users include:
Tag based security for users -
Many Key Account Holders decide to use tag based security for sales or support teams where users have their own client base of contacts that they are working on and so do not need to see the whole of the database..
Tag based security restrictions work really well for sales teams for a number of reasons:
1. Setting up tag based security will allow a user to only see their contacts.
See example below - this displays ONLY the contacts with the tag 'claire' which means that the CRM user Claire cannot view anyone elses contacts or the rest of the database. She can ONLY see contacts tagged as 'claire' as shown below in red:
2. Restrict what a Basic User sees on the Dashboard - you can also restrict what that CRM user can view on the Dashboard.
For example, allowing a Basic User to only see their own Dashboard activity as they cannot click on any of the other users in the custom filter as these are locked. See example below of where only Claire is selected under the users:
3. Restrict what a Basic User can view inside History - items within a contact record will only show up as their own history activity and not the whole teams.
So if someone other than the Basic User has been in contact with a person it will not be shown inside the History of that contact record - it will only display the History relevant to that user.
Please see example below, where only History for Claire is shown:
4. Restrict user access to Calendars - Each user of your CRM account can select who (which other CRM account users) can see and view their calendar and appointments. Please click here to find out more about this feature.
5. Hide Global Task Folders - share task folders with certain team members but restrict access for Basic Users, meaning a user can only access their In-Tray folder and Assigned task folder, which keeps other global task folders hidden from view. To find out more about this please click here.
6. Specify File Permissions in File Repository - a Key Account Holder can choose which users can view, upload and download files - please click here to find out more.
7. Restrict access to areas of the CRM - for instance a Basic User could have the e-Marketing area or Calendar area removed from their view so they cannot access these functions.
If you have any questions or to arrange for these additional security restrictions to be set up or to discuss any other restrictions you may want in place please contact our Support Helpdesk.