Yes, when you do a data import you will see an option to Merge duplicate contacts when importing? as shown below:
You have either a Yes or No option. Please note: that the Yes option is the default setting.
If you do not wish to merge duplicate contacts when importing your data then please change this setting to No as shown below:
Continue your import and you will see that any duplicate records will not have been merged together.